After working more than 15 years in the Belgium chocolate domain, it is a great pleasure for me to share with you my passion and expertise by offering you a great variety of chocolates with different flavours. Also 3d subjects and creations of any kind for special event during the year.

Charles Grant - Grant Chocolatier

The Amerindian origins

Botanists believe that the cacao tree already grew wild in the tropical regions of South America in 4000 B.C. The Indians knew the therapeutic virtues of the cacao bean and consumed it in liquid form. The Mayas introduced cacao to Yucatan, Mexico, during their migration in the 17th century B.C. They were the first to grow cacao. To the Mayas, cacao also had religious virtues. They believed that drinking cacao could nourish them even beyond death. Cacao growing was then spread by the Toltecs and the Itzas, two peoples dominated by the Aztecs.

The Aztecs believed that the cacao tree was given to them by Quetzalcoatl. To them, the cacao beans were both currency and food. The beans were used as a trading currency and for paying taxes. They also ground the beans into a paste that they mixed with hot water and drank, often adding vanilla and other spices.

Après avoir travaillé plus de 15 années dans le domaine du chocolat belge haut de gamme, aujourd'hui, je partage ma passion et mon expertise en vous offrant une grande variété de chocolats aux saveurs variées. Des sujets, des montages et des compositions personnalisés de toutes sortes des plus originales pour chaque événement et circonstance durant l'année.

Charles Grant - Grant Chocolatier

Les origines amérindiennes

Selon les botanistes, le cacaoyer poussait déjà à l'état sauvage dans les régions tropicales de l'Amérique du sud 4000 ans avant J.-C. Les Indiens connaissaient les vertus thérapeutiques de sa fève et consommaient le cacao sous forme liquide. Les Mayas l'introduisirent au Yucatan (Mexique) au cours de leur migration au 17e siècle avant J.-C. Ils furent les premiers à le cultiver et lui attribuaient une vertu religieuse, la boisson de cacao étant censée les nourrir même par-delà la mort. Sa culture se répand ensuite grâce aux Toltèques et aux Itzas, deux peuples dominés par les Aztèques.

Les Aztèques attribuent l'origine du cacaoyer à Quetzalcoatl. Pour eux, le cacao est à la fois monnaie d’échange et aliment. Les fèves sont utilisées notamment pour le paiement de l'impôt. La pâte de cacao obtenue par broyage et mélangée à de l'eau chaude leur servait de boisson, à laquelle on ajoutait aussi de la vanille et diverses épices.